Bestellen Sie unseren Newsletter
SC207+SC307
A-Town Recordings
SC207
BahçeKat Studio
SC307+TS110
Ben Collier
SC203+SC407+SC408
Berlin Producer Trio
SC208
Bob Spencer
SC307
Callum MacColl
SC207
Cam Bluff
SC407
Chevy One
SC203
Chrysanthemum Bridge
SC307
Crada
SC307
Craig Carter
SC208
Creative Audio Works
SC407
Cutfather
SC407+TS112
Dallas Studios
SC205
Dazastah
SC307
Dirtcaps
SC407
DJ Daniele Danieli
SC207+SC307+TS110
DJ eM
SC407
DJ Fopp
SC208
DJ QuestionMark
SC207
Eldar Djangirov
SC305
Fullframe Studio
SC407
Funky Viva Productions
SC407
Goodluck
SC305
Gwenael Damman
SC205+SC207+TS112
Hauptwerk Systems UK
SC207+SC408
High Tide Studios
SC207
Hromadske.TV
SC207
Hull College Group
SC305+TS108
Hyoung Woo Roh
SC207
Jangwon Kim
SC307+SC407+TS112
JLMx Studio
SC407+TS112
Johnny Yim
SC207+SC305+TS110
Joy Art Studio
SC205+SC207+SC208
Kingston College
SC307+TS112
La Baia dei Porci
SC208
La Distilleria
SC307
Les Liens du Son
SC203+SC307+TS108
LoudBell Studio
SC307
Łukasz & Adam Sztaba
SC207+TS108
NoizeBusters Studio
SC207+SC408
Onkio Haus
Polnische BeliEVErs
SC307
Pughouse Studios
SC407
Randy Copus
SC205+SC307
Record Factory
SC407
Red Loft Studio
SC207+SC208+TS108
Rumänische BeliEVErs
SC407
Route94
SC207
Sear Sound Studio
SC208+TS112
Sepura
SC407
Shake Down Studio
SC305
Shigeo Aoki
SC203
Super Changddai
SC207
Thundabird Studios
SC307
Tom Olbrich
SC407
University of Northampton
SC305+TS108
Village Recording Studio
SC407
WireWorld Studio
SC3010
Woodbine Street
SC307
WSL Studio
SC3010+TS110
W & W

UKCallum MacColl

Produzent, Sänger, Songwriter

SC307

Jeder, der den MacColl Familiennamen hört, wird sich an die langen und einflussreichsten Karrieren von Callum's Mutter Peggy Seeger und seinem Vater Ewan MacColl in der Folk-Szene erinnern. Mit solch einem Stammbaum ist ein Weg in die Welt der kreativen Musiker, Sänger und Songschreiber seit frühester Kindheit vorgezeichnet.

Callum erinnert sich: "Ich war 12 Jahre alt, als ich mit meinem Bruder und einem Freund der Familie mit Aufbau des Studios unserer Familie beauftragt wurde. Dies war in South East London im Jahr 1975, noch vor der Zeit des Punk. Die Songs meiner Mutter und meines Vater wurden dann viele Jahre in diesem Studio bearbeitet. Mit 22 Jahren wurde ich Vollzeit-Profi-Musiker und verbrachte die nächsten Jahre meines Lebens in verschiedenen Indie-Bands wie Rough Trade und Liberty Horses. Während dieser Zeit habe ich an vielen Sessions gearbeitet."

"Ich würde meinen Stil eklektisch nenne, da ich mit so vielen verschiedenen Stilen und Genres im Laufe der Jahre gearbeitet habe. Einige meiner letzten Projekte umfassen Eddi Reader, Hafdis Huld, Christie Hennessy, Christy Moore, Die Bibel, Brian Kennedy, Black, Sarah-Jane Morris, Ronan Keating, The Backstreet Boys und zuletzt die preisgekrönte Sängerin Rokia Traore aus Mali."

"Während dieser Zeit hatte ich immer ein Studio. Es war so, dass du deine Songs, wenn du sie geschrieben hast, für Demos auch produzieren und mischen musstest. Da gab es niemanden, der das für dich getan hat, außer, du hast bezahlt. So habe ich das Studio über viele Jahre hin aufgebaut."

Callum's Studio ist eine umgebaute Doppelgarage im Wohnhaus der Famlie. Es ist eine "Raum im Raum Konstruktion", der Boden ist auf Bolzen gelagert und zwischen Wänden und Decke ist eine Lücke zur ursprünglichen Garage. Entworfen von Howard Turner, hat das Studio eine natürliche Leblosigkeit zu bieten. Mit anderen Worten, die Mitten und Höhen können ein wenig reflektieren, während die eher schwierigeren unteren Mitten und Tiefen mit Paneelen gut unter Kontrolle gehalten werden können. Callum beschloss, das Studio, das rund 40 Gitarren und eine stattliche Mikrofon-Sammlung beherbergt, mit neuen Monitoren auszustatten:

"Monitore zu verändern ist nie leicht und so hab ich eine ganze Reihe von unterschiedlichen Produkten gehört um herauszufinden, was ich suchte. Ich hab mich für die SC307 entschieden, weil die hohen Frequenzen schonend, die tiefen Mitten mit großer Klarheit und ohne für die Ohren anstrengend oder ermüdend zu sein, wiedergegeben werden. Es ist leicht, mit ihnen zu arbeiten. EQs sind einfacher zu identifizieren. Das einzige, was ich sagen würde ist, dass die Stereo-Abbildung so präzise ist. Das ist nicht schlecht, aber man muss genau im sweet spot sitzen, um die Richtigkeit der Lautsprecher zu genießen."

"Ich habe die EVEs jetzt seit ein paar Monaten und genieße, mit ihnen zu arbeiten. Ich hab mich auch unglaublich schnell an sie gewöhnt und bereits großartige Musik über sie abgemischt."

Mit seiner Plattenfirma Red Grape Records arbeitet Callum MacColl derzeit an einer Reihe von weiteren Projekten.



EVE Newsletter bestellen:


Nicht mehr anzeigen!

Susbscribe to our Newsletter

UKCallum MacColl

Producer, singer, songwriter

SC307

For anyone immediately recognising the MacColl family name, you will be familiar with the long and influential careers that Callum's Mother and Father Ewan MacColl and Peggy Seeger have brought to the folk scene. With such pedigree, it is understandable that Callum has been immersed into the world of creative musicians and singer song writers from an early age.

Callum recalls "I was 12 years old when I was tasked with the job of building the family studio with my brother and a family friend. This was in South East London back in 1975, so pre punk. I remember editing my mum and dads songs for many years in that studio. I became a full time professional musician when I was 22 and spent the next part of my life working in different indie bands like Rough Trade and the Liberty Horses. During this time I did lots of Session work all over."

"I would say my style is eclectic, I have worked with so many different styles and genres over the years. Some of my past projects include Eddi Reader, Hafdis Huld, Christie Hennessy, Christy Moore, The Bible, Brian Kennedy, Black, Sarah-Jane Morris, Ronan Keating, The Backstreet Boys and most recently the award-winning Malian singer Rokia Traore."

"Meanwhile, I always had a studio. It became that thing when you had to keep writing songs, and as you wrote them you had to produce and mix them for demo's. Nobody was going to do it for you unless you were willing to pay. So I have built up the studio over many years."

Callum's studio is a converted double garage in the family home using a room within a room construction. The floor is raised on studs with the studio walls and ceiling offering an acoustic void between these walls and the original garage structure. Designed by the Studio Wizard – Howard Turner, the space has been treated to offer a natural deadness . In other words the mids and highs can still have a little reflection for character whilst keeping the troublesome low mids and lows under control with heavy baffling. Sporting a fine collection of around 40 guitars and a Microphone collection that would envy most studio owners, Callum recently decided to upgrade his studio monitoring system:

"So I went for the Eve's. I was worried about changing monitors, so I auditioned a number of brands to find what I was looking for. I choose the SC307's because they are easy on the ears in the high frequencies whilst offering such great clarity on the low mids without fatiguing and tiring the ears. They are easy to work on. Easier to identify EQs. The only thing I would say is that the stereo imaging is so precise. I suppose this is not a bad thing but it means you need to sit exactly in the sweet spot to enjoy their accuracy."

"I have had the EVE's for a few months now and I really enjoy listening to them. It has taken no time at all to become familiar with them and mix some great music through them."

Callum MacColl is currently working on a number of EP projects in conjunction with his record label Red Grape Records.


Subscribe to our Newsletter:


To the website